Chakra Basics

Chakras are the concentrated energy centers of the body. Chakra is a Sanskrit term and it means “wheel” or “disk” and is derived from the root word “cakra”. The chakras themselves are not physical, but they interact with the physical body through two major ways, the nervous and the endocrine systems. Chakras are spinning wheels of energy/light. Blocked, overactive, and under-active chakras can all wreak havoc in your life, because they can throw you off emotionally, mentally, physically, and spiritually.

Some great chakra balancing techniques are (many of which you can do yourself at home):

Seventh Chakra - CROWN Located at the top of the head.

Colour: Violet or clear

Theme: Wisdom, Consciousness, Transcendence

Element: Consciousness/Energy

Developmental life stage: 43 to 49 years old

Affirmation: "I Am", "I Understand"

Spiritual Centre, Development of Psychic Abilities, Enlightenment, Unity. Balancing this chakra helps Central nervous system, muscular system, skin.

When blocked you may feel apathy, a disconnect from spirituality, or potentially psychological problems hindering your ability to learn or communicate.

Sixth Chakra – THIRD EYE Located in the center of the forehead between the eyebrows

Colour: Indigo

Theme: Insight, Awareness, Light

Element:: Light

Developmental life stage: 36 to 42 years old

Affirmation: “I Know”, “I Think”

Perception Centre; Psychic Consciousness; Wisdom; Intuitive Ability; Visualization; Power Of Mind. Balancing this chakra helps brain and neurological system, eyes, ears, nose.

When blocked you may experience confusion, headaches, eyestrain, mental rigidity or stubbornness.

Fifth Chakra – THROAT Located in the centre of the throat

Colour: Blue

Theme: Express, Listen, Speak, Sing

Element: Music/Sound/Ether

Developmental life stage: 29 to 35 years old

Affirmation: “I Speak”, “I Express”

Expression Centre; Communication; Inner Voice; Speaking from Truth; Expression of Creativity; (Arts, Music); Willpower. Balancing this chakra helps throat and thyroid, esophagus, trachea, mouth, jaw, teeth, neck, vertebrae.

When blocked your may experience an inability to communicate, neglect of self-care, thyroid problems and colds as well as creative blocks.

Fourth Chakra – HEART Located in the centre of the chest

Colour: Green

Theme: Healing, Balance, Unity, Compassion

Element: Air

Developmental life stage: 21 to 28 years old

Affirmation: “I Love”

Love Centre; Compassion; Unconditional Love; Hope; Forgiveness. Balancing this chakra helps heart, circulatory system, ribs, breast, thymus gland, lungs, shoulders, arms, hands, diaphragm.

When blocked you may experience disgust, withdrawal, judgment, heart disease, asthma and immune deficiencies.

Third Chakra – SOLAR PLEXUS Located in the area above the naval

Colour: Yellow

Theme: Inner Fire, Energy, Self Esteem, Transformation

Element: Fire

Developmental life stage: 15 to 21 years old

Affirmation: “I Can”, “I Do”

Power Centre; Self-confidence and Esteem; Manifestation. Balancing this chakra helps stomach, pancreas, adrenals, upper intestines, liver, gallbladder, middle spine.

When blocked you may experience feelings of being trapped, weakness, powerlessness, vulnerability and digestive issues as well as frustration, lack of direction and anger.

Second Chakra – SACRAL Located in the lower abdomen, genitals, wombs Colour: Orange

Theme: Creativity, Emotions, Sensuality

Element: Water

Developmental life stage: 8-14 years old

Affirmation: “I Feel”, “I Want”

Creativity and Sexuality; Relationship with Money, Career and Power; Procreation; Ability to Feel Joy and Pleasure. Balancing this chakra helps sexual organs, large intestine, lower vertebrae, pelvis, hip area, urinary bladder.

When blocked you may experience boredom, lack of inspiration, stiffness, impotence, or uterine/bladder/kidney issues.

First Chakra – ROOT Located at the base of the spine Colour: Red

Theme: Survival, Birth, Safety, Stability

Element: Earth

Developmental life stage: 1 to 7 years old

Affirmation: “I Do”, “I Am”

Survival and Security Centre; Family Connections; Animal Instinct; Controls Fear; Helps in Grounding. Balancing this chakra helps Spinal column, rectum, legs, bones, feet. Energizes body, increases overall health.

When blocked you may experience fear, anxiety, uncertainty, disconnection and bone/joint pain.